‘a yearning beyond visible expression.’

Tomorrow afternoon I’m reading with a set of talented folk at the Nuyorican Poet’s Cafe to celebrate the release of For Some Time Now: Performance Poets of New York City, a self published volume of photographs by Jonathan Weiskopf, edited by Jeanann Verlee. My essay, Notes Toward An Ars Poetica, is included in the anthology. I’m really honored to be included in this beautiful project.

For those of you wholly unawares, I’ve been spottily documenting the New York Performance poetry scene for years. Many of the members in this community had become some of my closest, dearest friends. Some of my earlier photo work covering my time as a resident photographer at the Nuyorican Poets Cafe in 1999-2000 on Verbs On Asphalt, conceived and designed by Claire Ultimo. (The above photo is one of my own, of Jeanann Verlee at the National Poetry Slam in St. Paul 2010 (that’s not included in the book). The essay included in Weiskopf’s book, kinda brings my story in this community full circle. I’m no poet; just a woman grasping at air and words and images to sort out meaning in living everyday.

When you lose 4 of your most significant people who’ve influenced you in your life over an 18 month period, it changes you. For my part, the true manifestation of that change is making itself fully known now. Amidst all that grief, I fought my way to joy, largely in part because of this community.

I could say more, but now is not the time. If you’re free tomorrow afternoon, stop by the Nuyo between 2PM – 6PM to view the exhibition and buy the book.

Nuyorican Poets Cafe 36 E. 3rd St., New York, NY 10009